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Interpreting marketing science results

Had a linear regression analysis (LRA) or causal impact analysis (CIA) done? Here's what to do next!

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Written by Strategy Organization
Updated over 2 years ago

Overview

  • The Data Intelligence team can assist proving the value of a channel or tactic

  • Marketing Science methods can be deployed to achieve this:

    • Linear Regression looks at historical data and is fast and easy to do

    • Causal Impact is essentially a fancy pre/post test but is more accurate

  • The purpose of this is to prove the value of a tactic when performance is “poor”

    • If attribution says Facebook has a $0.50 ROAS and client wants $2.50

    • If in-platform says that Trade Desk has delivered 0 conversions

    • If the client “just doesn’t feel the impact on the business”

The Analysis Comes Back Good

  • The linear regression analysis (LRA) or causal impact analysis (CIA) come back

  • The results look good or are better than attribution (e.g. $2.50 instead of $0.50)

  • Work with the data intel team to explain and present these findings to client

  • If the analyses convinces the client that the channel is actually effective:

    • Apply coefficient to in-plat and last click numbers

      • The total volume of conversions or revenue must remain the same

      • The proportion "attributed" to each channel will change

      • At first, reduce revenue from organic and/or direct

    • Potentially scale up spend if the channel is significantly outperforming goal

      • Example: business goal CAC of $50. Last click says Meta CAC is $150, so we reduce budget. But an LRA shows that the “real” CAC is $25. We can 2-3x our budgets without Meta’s CAC of $50 (however total blended CAC of all marketing might increase with more spend, be careful here)

    • Scaling spend helps the client grow their business as the ROI is positive

  • If the analysis does not convince the client that it is effective:

    • Recommend that we validate the findings through experimentation

    • The easiest and most common experiment is through a Matched Market Test

    • Some channels can’t MMT (e.g. Influencers, Affiliate, PR, Email)

      • Significant budget changes or other holdout tests can work instead

      • Run a second measurement analysis (generally a CIA) to validate

    • If experiments are not allowed and the client wants to reduce or remove the channel altogether, then we can still treat its removal as an experiment:

      • Remove the channel per their request

      • Work with the data intel team to measure its absence

      • Report on latent impact of removing channel weeks or months later

The Analysis Comes Back Bad

  • Explain the rationale as to why it might not be effective, adhering to what we think is the true likely cause given our expertise. Examples:

    • Investment level is too low

    • Creative isn't aligned with message or audience

    • Account hasn’t had time to optimize

  • Recommend that we validate these findings through experimentation (see above)

  • Come prepared with pivot solutions and other services that might assist the client’s needs in the absence of losing this channel (swap CTV for YouTube, etc)

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